PDA

View Full Version : quick coordinate question



padlamoij
02-09-2003, 03:44 PM
i know this may be a dumb question but...

i an designing an application where the camera does not move. i currently have the coordinate system setup so that it forms a box with a center point of 0,0,0. will this get me into trouble with divide by zero errors and other stuff i don't know about yet? if so should i change it so that the front left bottom corner is like 0,0,0 or 1,1,1?
i hope that makes sense. any help would be really appreciated.

nexusone
02-09-2003, 04:18 PM
No, only reason that you may get a divid by zero error is if you do not correctly write your programs.

About everything in openGL is based around the 0,0,0 world coord's.

For rotations it is best to have your box or any object with its center 0,0,0

For example I use a cube with coords; 1,1,1 to -1,-1,-1 with the center being 0,0,0


Originally posted by padlamoij:
i know this may be a dumb question but...

i an designing an application where the camera does not move. i currently have the coordinate system setup so that it forms a box with a center point of 0,0,0. will this get me into trouble with divide by zero errors and other stuff i don't know about yet? if so should i change it so that the front left bottom corner is like 0,0,0 or 1,1,1?
i hope that makes sense. any help would be really appreciated.



[This message has been edited by nexusone (edited 02-09-2003).]

padlamoij
02-09-2003, 04:47 PM
okay so its cool all i should do is just check for the zero when dividing. thats what i was hoping.
thank you.

M/\dm/\n
02-10-2003, 05:37 AM
What are you going to devide with cube coord?