PDA

View Full Version : Disabling a stage in a multistage shader ?



Undertaker
08-22-2005, 01:09 PM
I have a fragment shader containing normal & specular map calculations, can I disable the specular factor for examaple without writing a shader without those calculations ?

Hlz
08-22-2005, 06:56 PM
Well, if you're writing your own fragment shader, you can do whatever you want. You can do whatever you think is best ;)

Undertaker
08-26-2005, 07:29 AM
That`s not what i meant...

I have a single shader with all operations.
Let`s presume I don`t want to apply the specular factor to a poly but I don`t want to make another shader without the specular calculations.
Can I disable the specular calculations from the original shader?

PS:
In doom3 for example you can disable bump mapping or specular and they only have 1 shader with all the operations

Aeluned
08-26-2005, 07:43 AM
Pass a bool to your shader that is set in the application. Use the bool to conditionally call a block of code.