PDA

View Full Version : Hemispheres

05-11-2004, 07:31 AM
How can i create a hollow hemisphere in OpenGL? (ie. half of a glutSolidSphere object)

It's driving me up the wall trying to work it out.

Thanks

ZbuffeR
05-11-2004, 07:37 AM
Get the source code for Glut, and adapt the glutSolidSphere code, it should be pretty easy.
http://www.opengl.org/resources/libraries/glut.html

brcain
05-11-2004, 07:42 AM
You could try gluSphere() with an additional clipping plane.

05-11-2004, 07:52 AM
1 Sorry, but I'm a bit of a noob, where exactly on that site can i get the code for glutSolidSphere?

2. I thought about clipping planes, but after looking into it, i was under the impression that you can only have 6 clipping planes. I need to create 16 hemishere though.

brcain
05-11-2004, 08:08 AM
You can get glut source (follow links) at http://www.opengl.org/resources/libraries/glut.html.

05-11-2004, 08:19 AM
yeah, ive got the .tar.gz file, but theres a lot of files inside it :D

any clue which one will have the code for gluSphere that i need in it?

brcain
05-11-2004, 08:39 AM
You can use gluSphere with just 1 clipping plane ... even for 16 hemispheres. Just specify the appropriate clipping plane equation before you draw each sphere.

double clipEq[16][4];
glEnable(GL_CLIP_PLANE0);
for(i=0; i<16; i++)
{
glClipPlane(GL_CLIP_PLANE0, clipEq[i]);
glPushMatrix();
// Transform
gluSphere(q, size, numSegs, numSegs);
glPopMatrix();
}

brcain
05-11-2004, 08:45 AM
Originally posted by <LordSigmund>:
which one will have the code for gluSphere that i need in it?I don't think GLUT has the gluSphere source ... only the glut**Sphere source. See glut_shapes.c.

You can do a google search (e.g. with spherical coordinates) to get an algorithm to generate the mesh yourself. This might be more what you need.

Hope this helps,
Ben

05-11-2004, 09:17 AM
Thanks for the help, i think thats the right track, but im having trouble understanding glClipPlane

how does the plane equation define the plane?