PDA

View Full Version : how would i load a model?



11-30-2001, 01:12 PM
how do i load a model into a world using opengl? i have the models...

chowe6685
11-30-2001, 01:47 PM
choose a format, I used .3ds but you can do whatever, then go to www.wotsit.org (http://www.wotsit.org)
and find a textfile explaining the format. Then write a function to load the vertex and face data. Depending on the format you may have to fill some stuff in, for example .3ds doesn't include normals, but you can calculate these yourself

ppinter1
12-01-2001, 07:34 AM
http://p-squared.com/Display3DS.zip for an VC++/MFC example that loads 3D Studio MAX (3DS) meshes.

dheitbri
12-01-2001, 05:47 PM
For milkshape there's a tutorial at that which is pretty good, well not so good but the sample source code is. http://home.clara.net/paulyg/objects.htm

Also at nehe.gamedev.net