PDA

View Full Version : Antialias steps...



halo
04-18-2005, 07:18 AM
I am trying to get antialiasing with GL_MULTISAMPLE_ARB to work. I am not using C/C++. I am trying to get the simplest case working before I go back and refine it. I already know my card supports 2x and 4x antialiasing, so I am not going to check. I just want to make sure I have all the steps right.

1) Create a rendering context, so that you can get the wglChoosePixelFormat() address.

2) Use wglChoosePixelFormatARB() to choose a pixel format with WGL_SAMPLE_BUFFERS_ARB=GL_TRUE and WGL_SAMPLES_ARB=2.

3) Make the hrc current and call glEnable GL_MULTISAMPLE_ARB

At that point, your rendering should be antialiased.

Did I leave anything crucial out? Because while wglChoosePixelFormatARB() is returning 1, I then set the pixel format, but SetPixelFormat() fails on the first multisample pixel format. Do I need to describe the pixel format or something?

dorbie
04-18-2005, 07:36 AM
Read this:

http://developer.nvidia.com/attach/6709

You could try calling glEnable for multisampling :-).

P.S. The call failure is obviously a problem.

halo
04-18-2005, 08:14 AM
You could try calling glEnable for multisamplingYour comment is not at all clear.

I did discover that my ****ty GEForce MX 440 doesn't even support WGL_ARB_multisample. This is odd, because I have controls in my graphics card settings dialog for antialiasing. Maybe it only supports DirectX antialiasing.

dorbie
04-18-2005, 08:20 AM
Probably just a case of not being exposed as a programmable feature.

I can't make it any clearer than telling you you need to call glEnable for multisampling short of going and finding the exact token you use (and that's in the presentation I linked to). You not having hardware support for an extension doesn't alter what you need to do if you do have a card that supports the feature you asked about using.

halo
04-18-2005, 08:26 AM
Excerpt from my initial post:

3) Make the hrc current and call glEnable GL_MULTISAMPLE_ARBYour response:

You could try calling glEnable for multisampling :-).I would assume you mean to say call glEnable GL_MULTISAMPLE_ARB, but I explicitly said that in step 3, so I am not sure what you mean.

halo
04-18-2005, 09:30 AM
ANyways, I got it working, on someone else's machine.

dorbie
04-18-2005, 11:36 AM
Ahh, my bad I missed that line :-) Dunno how I could have I thought I gave your post a once over specifically for that.

halo
04-18-2005, 12:34 PM
I win! I just schooled the moderator! I win, I win!

But thanks for the good intention.

dorbie
04-18-2005, 01:14 PM
LOL

I think you read too much into the term moderator :-)