PDA

View Full Version : Please help me. Just 2 cubes and it's slow



Frenchi Guy
05-11-2000, 03:29 PM
Hi

I'm new here.
I just made a little program that draw two cubes with textures. But it's really slow and it doesn't seem to use hardware acceleration. I have a PentiumII PC with 256 mb ram and a Matrox G400 max. This machine is able to play halflife in 1280 by 960 at full speed.
I used VC++6. So did I miss something during my creation.

Thanks a lot.

dmy
05-11-2000, 11:00 PM
ok. first, check with glGetString(GL_RENDERER) if opengl is currently using hw.

also, check your application codeflow to see what it actually does: if it's uploading textures frequently (glTexImage, glTexSubImage and the other texture upload functions), then it's probably due to this.

does a window resize make things run smoothly?

Dolo/\/\ightY

Frenchi Guy
05-12-2000, 03:59 AM
Hi dmy

Thank you for your help.

Well it runs using the generic GDI. So how do I make it use the hardware.

The textures are loaded once each and then I use texture objects.

So if you can tell me how to use the hardware renderer instead of the generic one, it would be great.

Thanks a lot.

Eric
05-12-2000, 04:52 AM
Salut !

Your application doesn't need anything for OpenGL to use the hardware... You might have a bad setup for your pixel-format or something like that... Do you use any special feature such as accumulation buffer or stencil buffer (well, G400 should have an hw-accelerated stencil buffer anyway...) ???
Post your init code concerning the pixel format for your DC so that we can tell you what is going wrong.

Regards.

Eric

P.S. : you might as well contact me on my e-mail (en francais si tu veux !).