PDA

View Full Version : not using hardware acceleration for opengl?



GameMaker
04-17-2002, 10:08 AM
I have a GEFORCE 256 card and win2000. I downloaded the latest driver and installed it from nvidia.

But, I do this:

char *card = (char*)glGetString(GL_VENDOR);
printf("3D Card Vendor: [%s]\n",card);
card = (char*)glGetString(GL_RENDERER);
printf("3D Card : [%s]\n",card);

and it says "Microsoft Corporation" and "GDI Generic".

But under hardware devices in windows it says it is using the nvidia driver.

I tried setting my desktop to a low resolution, but that didn't help.

in the registry under WindowsNT\currentversion\opengldrivers, its default says nothing. Also it has a folder for RIVATNT (That seems strange)

The dxdiag shows my NVidia 256.

Does my bit depth matter?

Could somebody please help me? Thanks!

yakuza
04-17-2002, 10:21 AM
Are you checking the Vendor and Renderer values after creating the GL rendering context?

GameMaker
04-17-2002, 10:56 AM
Yes.

Pat
04-17-2002, 11:48 AM
Do you have a tool that can enumerate the available pixelformats? This may help in determining why the pixel format that you are choosing is not hardware accelerated.

Pat

DFrey
04-17-2002, 12:02 PM
Don't worry about the RIVATNT key in the registry, that is normal. I see it in the registry of every computer that has a TNT or Geforce, and I assume it has to do with the unified nature of the NVIDIA drivers and/or legacy issues.

GameMaker
04-17-2002, 12:10 PM
Do you know where I could get that tool?

Is there a standard pixel format that I should set my program to when initializing, that should 100% use hardware acceleration on a GEFORCE256?

GameMaker
04-17-2002, 01:04 PM
I got it working now! I had to change my desktop to 32 bit color. I guess the card doesn't support anything lower than that?

Thanks for the help guys. ;-)