PDA

View Full Version : keybinding



t3jem
06-07-2005, 08:29 PM
In my program I want to be able to be able to bind about 5 keys at once. I am using an array for flags on which keys are down and the idle function for updates depending on witch key is pressed yet my computer will only let me bind 2-3 keys at once. I'm using glut to do this. Does anyone have any suggestions?

T101
06-07-2005, 11:45 PM
Actually, I doubt you'll be able to overcome that.
Many keyboards just don't recognise more than a couple of simultaneous key presses.

You could try a newer/more expensive (e.g. USB) keyboard, but don't hold your breath.

ZbuffeR
06-08-2005, 04:26 AM
>> You could try a newer/more expensive (e.g. USB)
Don't ! My uber recent fancy logitech keyboard is way WAY worse than my venerable hp keyboard !

Now I can't even run+strafe left+forward ! That is a shame really, but appart testing each keyboard at the store ... Such features are not really needed for office work...

t3jem
06-08-2005, 08:25 AM
Well thats a bummer.

Thanks anyways

T101
06-08-2005, 09:09 AM
If you're not afraid of using a soldering iron, and possibly destroying a keyboard, this site has a suggestion:

http://www.dribin.org/dave/keyboard/html/index.html

But you can't expect your users to do the same of course.

ZbuffeR
06-08-2005, 11:20 AM
Hey thanks T101 !
The links seems really insteresting !