PDA

View Full Version : rotating a user-defined shape

mmsgl
12-07-2004, 05:48 AM
Hello,

This is my first attempt at using OpenGL.

Is it possible to define a shape by cross-section, and then rotate that, in the same way I have seen simple cubes rotated?

endash
12-07-2004, 09:20 AM
In short: Yes. Can you elaborate? It may be up to you to code a function to turn a cross-section into a "shape", but then you certainly can glRotate() it.

mmsgl
12-07-2004, 10:24 AM
There will be only a few standard shapes that I would require, and these are based on standard structural shapes produced by steel mills.

I had wanted to post a bitmap image of a sample, but I don't see how to do that on this board.

These cross-sections are pretty basic and would resemble an 'H', 'I', 'T', '0', etc.

Also, in re-reading my original post, I see that I didn't make it clear that I would require a 3D image to be generated from this "cross-section".

Is this also possible?

Aeluned
12-07-2004, 12:20 PM
your post still eludes me.
you have an image (2D representation) of the cross section and you want to extrapolate a 3D model representation of this cross-section?

there is a bit to be said if that's what your goal is, so I'll hold off on that.

but, as endash said, after you've got a 'shape' defined by vertices, rotating it is as easy as glRotatef().

mmsgl
12-08-2004, 04:37 AM
Originally posted by Aeluned:
your post still eludes me.
you have an image (2D representation) of the cross section and you want to extrapolate a 3D model representation of this cross-section?
Yes.

I was wanting to somehow mathematically define this "cross-section", have the "length" as a variable that can be adjusted at run-time, and have OpenGL do the rest.

The image below is the closest I could find to what I want to do.

The light green member is a "W" section that I would like to be able to generate and rotate.

http://www.nyacad.com/SS07TypConnWallBearing.htm

http://www.nyacad.com/SS07TypConnWallBearing.htm