PDA

View Full Version : Oh, that's textures.



S0ft
08-02-2005, 08:58 PM
I wanna to put on background hi-res picture.
But in opengl only 256*256 pictures are allowed.
I know that putting bigger is possible, but worry about memory.
How to use hi-res pictures?

S0ft
08-02-2005, 08:59 PM
i'm russian, so my english is no good.
Sorry!

enmaniac
08-02-2005, 11:57 PM
It is not true. You may use bigger textures than 256x256. I guess my Radeon9600Pro can handle even 4096x4096 textures. Make sure they are power of two and try to load them. Use compressed textures (there is some extension I can remember now) if you wanna save some memory (this can even improve performance in the case of bigger textures ;-) )

Obli
08-05-2005, 08:08 AM
I'm pretty sure the minimum size is 64x64. All vendors provide much higher texture which you can retrieve with GL_MAX_TEXTURE_SIZE thuru glGet.
Expect 256x256 on old cards (3+ years), 2048x2048 on radeons (not sure of that), 4096x4096 on geforces.
Professional video cards have much better support. I heard there are 6 year old cards which can handle 64k x 64k textures but I never checked this.

If you cannot load a single texture, load multiple ones and apply them correctly on your mesh. Simple way: break apart the mesh and adjust texture coordinates.

S0ft
08-10-2005, 02:22 AM
Thanks, i tried and i'v got a result.
Thanks very much!!!