PDA

View Full Version : Transparent Texture



03-15-2006, 10:01 PM
I'm having some problems with transparent textures.

What I want to do is be able to specify a color that is completely transparent and the rest of the image should be completely opaque.

Is this possible?

Hylke Donker
03-15-2006, 11:54 PM
Load an image with alpha values, and then use blending to make it transparent.

Ehsan Kamrani
03-16-2006, 02:00 AM
you can add an alpha value to the targa(*.TGA) files. try to work with TGA files.
-Ehsan-

03-16-2006, 03:08 AM
My image is a TGA file. Some parts of the image is made transparent in photoshop. The way I do this is just deleting the parts I want transparent.(I dont create any alpha layers, is this something I must do?) I then save the file as a 32 bit TGA file.

My problem is that when I try to use this Image as a Texture, the parts that should be transparent is colored with the current color settings. I want these parts to be completly transparent and the rest of the image completely opaque. Is this possible?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

ZbuffeR
03-17-2006, 01:17 AM
Yes, for proper TGA alpha, you need to create and edit an alpha channel in photoshop.
Try re-reading you current TGA with photoshop, you'll see the transparent parts have disapeared as well...