PDA

View Full Version : Can you get rid of the console box.....



blood.angel
01-31-2001, 03:03 PM
...if you are using VC++ and using GLUT for window handling?

ribblem
01-31-2001, 05:44 PM
The answer is yes. I remember seeing how to do this on this board a long time ago. It's not obvious how it's done and I can't remember how. But I know it's possible. Sorry I can't remember how.

mango
01-31-2001, 08:01 PM
From FAQ.glut that is in the source distro:

A36: Try using the following Microsoft Visual C compiler flags:
/SUBSYSTEM:WINDOWS /ENTRY:mainCRTStartup

These are linker options... if main or wmain are defined, MSVC
build a CONSOLE app by default; hence the need for
/SUBSYSTEM:WINDOWS. if /SUBSYSTEM:WINDOWS is defined, MSVC
expects WinMain or wWinMain to be defined; hence the need to
/ENTRY:mainCRTStartup (eg the entry point is the usual C main).
stdout/stderr are [apparently] not "attached"; output via printf
is simply "eaten" unless redirected at the command-line or by a
parent program.

ZeeBoy
02-01-2001, 03:18 AM
Try using the API function, FreeConsole();

Zee