PDA

View Full Version : Gforce 4 TI 4200 - 8x and AGP version 1.0 slot



09-25-2003, 04:06 AM
Hello, I have an old ASUS motherboard with a version 1.0 AGP slot, and run Win 98. I just bought a Club-3d gforce 4 ti 4200 (8X) card, but at startup I get all kind of strange characters all over the screen. In the "clouds" windows screen are black vertical lines. Once Windows is running it first looks normal, but after a while Icons disappear and all kind of graphical disturbances occur. Is this because I have an AGP v 1.0 slot or is there something wrong with my card???
Anyone please help me is you would be so kind.
A desperate guy from Amsterdam

1234!
09-25-2003, 04:26 AM
You should take out that card immediately.

The motherboard operates the APG slot at 5 Volts, while the card only expects 3.3 Volts.

If you use that card any longer in that motherboard, it will get fried.

09-25-2003, 06:54 AM
Thx 1234!, but according to the specs the ASUS P2B-F AGP slot is 3.3 Volts. And according to the vendor it should be possible to run the card on that board. But it is not running.... and I ruined my Windows.

1234!
09-25-2003, 02:49 PM
DOH!

My fault, I meant 3.3V versus 1.15V. Anyway since you have a motherboard that is based on Intel's BX chipset it already supports AGP 2x.

The only other problem I can think off is that either the mobo and/or the powersupply cant deliver enough current to keep everything running.

09-26-2003, 11:51 AM
Hi thx.
I just got the card back to the store: it is bad (tested on proper mobo, and same problems). And ofcourse it was the last one. They offered me a 5200 instead. That I did not want so they gave my money back.
But I still want a ti4200-8x 128Mb (great card < $100 isn't it?).

1234!
09-26-2003, 04:32 PM
I am glad you got things sorted out.

It was also a clever move to avoid the FX5200 since it's a piece of crap.

Since you have a BX board I assume you have a P3 <= 1Ghz. I somehow doubt that this processor can saturate a GF4, a GF3 seems more fitting. Dont get me wrong, of course a GF4 is faster then a GF3, but with your processor and a AGP2x motherboard the GF4 has to wait until new data is pushed towards it.

You may want to look for a Geforce3 or ATI 8500/9000.

[This message has been edited by 1234! (edited 09-26-2003).]