PDA

View Full Version : Can't Play Jedi Knight2. Can anyone be kind enough to help?



05-28-2002, 01:05 AM
JK2MP: v1.02a win-x86 Mar 3 2002
Initialising zone memory .....
----- FS_Startup -----
Current search path:
C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\base\assets1.pk3 (8011 files)
C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\base\assets0.pk3 (6674 files)
C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData/base

----------------------
14685 files in pk3 files
execing mpdefault.cfg
couldn't exec autoexec.cfg
Hunk_Clear: reset the hunk ok
...detecting CPU, found Intel Pentium III

------- Input Initialization -------
Skipping check for DirectInput
Joystick is not active.
------------------------------------
----- Client Initialization -----
----- Initializing Renderer ----
-------------------------------
----- Client Initialization Complete -----
----- R_Init -----
Initializing OpenGL subsystem
...initializing QGL
...calling LoadLibrary( 'C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\opengl32.dll' ): succeeded
...setting mode 3: 640 480 FS
...using desktop display depth of 16
...calling CDS: ok
...registered window class
...created window@0,0 (640x480)
Initializing OpenGL driver
...getting DC: succeeded
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 16, 16, 0 )
...23 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 16, 16, 0 )
...23 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
...restoring display settings
...WARNING: could not set the given mode (3)
...setting mode 3: 640 480 FS
...using colorsbits of 16
...calling CDS: ok
...created window@0,0 (640x480)
Initializing OpenGL driver
...getting DC: succeeded
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 16, 16, 0 )
...23 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 16, 16, 0 )
...23 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
...restoring display settings
...WARNING: could not set the given mode (3)
...shutting down QGL
...unloading OpenGL DLL
----- CL_Shutdown -----
RE_Shutdown( 1 )
-----------------------
GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem

This is what i get after trying to play Jedi Knight2. Can anyone offer any solutions?Thank you very much.

yakuza
05-28-2002, 08:12 AM
What video card are you using, and have you tried updating to the latest drivers for your video card?

05-28-2002, 04:25 PM
Originally posted by yakuza:
What video card are you using, and have you tried updating to the latest drivers for your video card?

I am using the nvidia tnt64/64proand i believe that it's already the lastest driver

Nothing
05-28-2002, 04:57 PM
Make sure that the card has an IRQ assigned.

And oh I hope you did NOT update an older version of Windows to a newer one.

It NEVER worked and I doubt that they ever get it to work correctly.

So far NONE of the updates from Win3.11->Win95->Win98->Win2K->WinXP ever worked the way you would expect it.

Besides that your card should be able to run the game.

Strix
06-09-2002, 12:54 AM
See other Jedi knight 2 posts

KiLLER_WeaZaL
06-11-2002, 06:13 PM
w
Originally posted by Strix:
See other Jedi knight 2 posts
well the same thing happened to me

06-12-2002, 07:06 PM
Frankiep figured out the solution for the problem running OPENGL games in XP.
(And i tried it and it worked so now i am trying to help other people. My comments are in ()'s)

First:
Update to the latest drivers for your card for windows XP/2000.

Second:
After the install of the videodriver search
for these 2 files:
opengl32.dll (670Kb, dated 7 sept 2001) and
opengl32.lib (325Kb, dated 16 july 1996).
The can be found in the windows\system32
directory. (i didnt have the .lib one in my system 32 folder so i got it from the game dir, anyway, make sure you have the newest one in each folder, and that they are the same file)

Third:
Copy these 2 files into your game dir
for example: x:\Program Files\EA GAMES\MOHAA
(x is your drive letter where the game is installed!)
overwriting the old files that were there.
(the old opengl32.dll is 717Kb)

Last step:
Remove the '3dfxgl.dll' from your game dir.
that should fix the problem. I believe the
engine tries to load the 3dfx drivers
first. I think when they did the RTCW code
they did not do a validity check to make
sure there was not another opengl driver
before erroring out. (i didnt need to do this, first try without this then if it don't work do this)

After these steps the game will work on XP too!! (i hope)

Have fun people!! (i am)

guest
06-13-2002, 02:21 PM
hey i don't understand what is the dir? i loaded xp updates and graphic driver updates but i don't know where to get the opengl32.lib i preformed a search and that was the one missing could someone e-mail me the .lib at jk2masters@yahoo.com

guest
06-14-2002, 07:45 AM
hey, i have the same problem with finding the .lib file too. somebody please email it to me too PLEASE!!!

guest
06-14-2002, 07:57 AM
^^^boardgod007@aol.com^^^this is my email