PDA

View Full Version : S3 Prosavage Problems



Str8lazy
06-30-2003, 05:58 PM
When I had Windows ME my graphics card worked fine, then I upgraded to Windows XP and then it worked fine aswell, but I got a virus so I had for reformat my stuff, and now my graphics card doesnt want to work right, the main problem is that it doesnt want to load the textures on Quake III properly, and eventually it freezes from that

Chip Type: S3 Prosavage KM133(TM)

DAC Type: S3 SDAC

Memory Size: 8 MB
Adapter String: S3 Compatible Display Adapter

Bios Information: 03.3C.07

07-01-2003, 04:08 AM
I'm afraid to say that you're another poster with a card so old nobody makes drivers for it anymore...

Try this: http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&q=S3+Prosavage+driver

Str8lazy
07-01-2003, 05:45 AM
huh.... whateva, ok

07-02-2003, 04:39 PM
the main problem is that it doesnt want to load the textures on Quake III properly, and eventually it freezes from that
Try setting your AGP to the 1x setting (as apposed to AGP 2x). Maybe you can find a utility to adjust the AGP settings from your Mobo manufacturer if you don't have one already. When I had one of these, my computer used to crash alot until I slowed down the AGP.

Str8lazy
07-14-2003, 11:45 AM
There are no AGP settings for it, the damn thing is soddered to the motherboard

07-16-2003, 06:39 PM
a prosavage with 8mb, that belongs in a museum,,,,,whatever its ancient

Str8lazy
07-17-2003, 08:45 AM
Indeed it does, but I need it working for the time being, seeing as though I am a penny pincher

07-31-2003, 04:06 PM
Hey I may have found a fix to your problem you can downlaod a Feb. 2003 Driver at http://www.windowsxp-drivers.com/drivers/87/87098.htm. Good Luck.

07-31-2003, 04:07 PM
http://www.windowsxp-drivers.com/drivers/87/87098.htm

07-31-2003, 05:07 PM
Originally posted by Panzlocke:
Hey I may have found a fix to your problem you can downlaod a Feb. 2003 Driver at http://www.windowsxp-drivers.com/drivers/87/87098.htm. Good Luck.


Feb 2003 isn't the date of the driver. It's the date it was UPLOADED to that site.

Again, obsolete card plus out-of-business company equals a need to upgrade... or deal with the headaches.

07-31-2003, 05:27 PM
Well, I take that back. It does say in the description that it is the Feb 2003 version.

In fact, I found this link:
http://ranger.s3graphics.com/viaarena/370drv/

With Jan 2003 drivers.

08-03-2003, 08:06 PM
Ya i use S3 Prosavage on windows XP. is there any way to make it run games such as diablo 2 a lot smoother?

08-04-2003, 04:06 AM
Originally posted by fiery_nativeX:
Ya i use S3 Prosavage on windows XP. is there any way to make it run games such as diablo 2 a lot smoother?

You're kidding right?

Str8lazy
08-12-2003, 09:08 PM
I've gotten that driver a long long time ago, that is probably the problem, but I dont know for sure