PDA

View Full Version : Give us a clue...please



12-23-2004, 01:34 PM
Go easy on me - it is Xmas. Have installed Call of Duty but get the message 'Could not load OpenGL. Make sure that you have the latest drivers for your video card from the manufacturer's web site.'
Have checked sites various but am lost as I don't know what video card I have. My machine wa srceently built (less than few motnhs) and is pretty powerful. Can someone help me out please. Thanks.

12-23-2004, 01:39 PM
Sorry Guys - Have just noticed how similar my message is to one ealrier. Full details of the COD message below.

----- FS_Startup -----
Current language: english
Current search path:
C:\PROGRA~1\CALLOF~1\main\pak6.pk3 (3 files)
C:\PROGRA~1\CALLOF~1\main\pak5.pk3 (4858 files)
C:\PROGRA~1\CALLOF~1\main\pak4.pk3 (1668 files)
C:\PROGRA~1\CALLOF~1\main\pak3.pk3 (1992 files)
C:\PROGRA~1\CALLOF~1\main\pak2.pk3 (694 files)
C:\PROGRA~1\CALLOF~1\main\pak1.pk3 (2642 files)
C:\PROGRA~1\CALLOF~1\main\pak0.pk3 (12828 files)
C:\PROGRA~1\CALLOF~1/main
C:\PROGRA~1\CALLOF~1\main\localized_english_pak1.p k3 (3736 files)
localized assets pak file for english
C:\PROGRA~1\CALLOF~1\main\localized_english_pak0.p k3 (1204 files)
localized assets pak file for english

File Handles:
----------------------
29625 files in pk3 files
execing default.cfg
couldn't exec language.cfg
couldn't exec config.cfg
couldn't exec autoexec.cfg
========= autoconfigure
configure.csv: using configuration 2000 cpu MHz 512 sys MB 64 vid MB
execing configure.cfg
fs_basepath is write protected.
fs_homepath is write protected.
Hunk_Clear: reset the hunk ok
...detecting CPU, found AMD w/ 3DNow!
Measured CPU speed is 2.16 GHz
System memory is 512 MB (capped at 1 GB)
Video card memory is 64 MB
Streaming SIMD Extensions (SSE) supported

----- Client Initialization -----
----- Initializing Renderer ----
-------------------------------
----- Client Initialization Complete -----
----- R_Init -----
Initializing OpenGL subsystem
...initializing QGL
...calling LoadLibrary( 'C:\WINDOWS\system32\opengl32.dll' ): succeeded
...setting mode 4: 800 600 FS
...using colorbits of 32
...calling CDS: ok
...registered window class
...created window@0,0 (800x600)
Initializing OpenGL driver
...getting DC: succeeded
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 32, 24, 8 )
...35 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 32, 24, 0 )
...35 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
...restoring display settings
...WARNING: could not set the given mode (4)
...shutting down QGL
...unloading OpenGL DLL
Forcing 640x480 resolution to allow OpenGL to run in fullscreen
...initializing QGL
...calling LoadLibrary( 'C:\WINDOWS\system32\opengl32.dll' ): succeeded
...setting mode 3: 640 480 FS
...using colorbits of 32
...calling CDS: ok
...created window@0,0 (640x480)
Initializing OpenGL driver
...getting DC: succeeded
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 32, 24, 8 )
...35 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 32, 24, 0 )
...35 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
...restoring display settings
...WARNING: could not set the given mode (3)
...shutting down QGL
...unloading OpenGL DLL
----- CL_Shutdown -----
RE_Shutdown( 1 )
-----------------------
Hunk_Clear: reset the hunk ok
Could not load OpenGL. Make sure that you have the latest drivers for your video card from the manufacturer's web site.

12-24-2004, 09:15 AM
Happy Holidays.

You're going to need to find out what video card you have and probably update the drivers (assuming it is powerful enough to run Call of Duty... a 64mb card is VERY wimpy by today's card standards.)

12-27-2004, 01:15 PM
Thanks 'Uh'. An IT mate of mine built the machine a few months ago and promised the best of all components. Thought 64mB would be OK. The video card is NVIDIA Ge Force2 MX/MX400 - shoudl be ok??

12-27-2004, 02:35 PM
A Geforce2MX is far from the best but its cheap and it should run COD (at a lower detail level).

Can you run this program and tell us what it says?

http://delphi3d.net/hardware/glinfo2.zip

Do you have Matlab installed on your system? What operating system do you use btw? You need to use the drivers from www.nivida.com (http://www.nivida.com) the drivers that come with WinXP dont support OpenGL.