PDA

View Full Version : ATI probs with opengl, i need asst plz



JW
12-29-2001, 11:25 AM
I have an ATI Radeon 7200 on a Radeon VE driver that supposably supports OpenGL, it says right before the download in the specs that is supports directx and opengl. I download the driver and install it, where's opengl, no where, i right click on desktop click properties, than click settings, than i clicked advanced, NO WHERE TO BE FOUND, i go all over the place trying to figure out what is going on, i need OpenGL for RTCW and to help me get more fps in CS. I downloaded something that seemed to me to be the right thing to do, but oh no, i try the games no work, how i fix this fubar thing? any suggestions?

JW
12-29-2001, 11:33 AM
oh sorry i forgot my OS, which is btw windows 98 second edition (se)

01-16-2002, 01:12 AM
Sometimes the Opengl isn't recognised if you haven't got your graphics hardware acceleration set to full. This can be found in properties, settings, advanced,Performance.

Currently I'm trying to get the medal of honour game working with hardware acceleration set to full I get a grey screen. If I decrease hardware acceleration I get a glw_StartOpengl message that half the gamers on this site appear to be getting.

I would say definitely get glsetup to install the latest gl drivers onto your pc. Worked for my bro's pc!

Hope this helps.

JW
01-17-2002, 03:25 PM
yea it helped, i already figured out the problem just experimenting b/c i was so damn pissed off with the computer, and when i restarted it popped up some boxes and i infered by these boxes that i have opengl, which i do...

bonedaddy
01-20-2002, 09:08 AM
Found this under notepad in opengl setup!
- WinME users with Radeon cards please note the following: Currently
we are experiencing a bug in our test lab with GLSetup crashing after
the installation process finishes (after you click on the Finish
button). When GLSetup closes an error box will pop stating that
GLSetup has cause an error with a GLS*.TMP file, where * is a random
number. So far this doesn't seem to effect the installation and is a
bug related to GLSetup itself and not the drivers. If you experience
this bug and have any problems, please file a bug report. If you are
a non-Radeon owner or are _not_ running WinME and you experience this
bug please file a bug report.

- We're trying to track down a problem where after installing GLSetup,
you cannot switch out of 640x480 mode. Sometimes reinstalling the
monitor drivers via the display control panel solves the problem.
Uninstalling GLSetup also fixes the problem. If you have this
problem, and can reproduce it repeatedly (in other words, you install,
have the problem, uninstall, it goes away, reinstall, it occurs again,
etc.), PLEASE send a bug report (see below) and mention this clearly.
It would really help us track down the problem.

- It is very important that you have the latest drivers for your
motherboard installed before you run GLSetup. This is important for
all users, but it is especially true for AMD CPU owners with ATI cards
(ATI Rage MAXX cards will not even boot with the latest display
drivers if the motherboard drivers are not up to date, and you'll have
to reboot in Safe Mode and uninstall them). Please update your
motherboard drivers before continuing. The webpage for your computer
manufacturer should be able to point you in the right direction to
upgrade the motherboard drivers.