PDA

View Full Version : Return to castle Wolfenstein



06-25-2002, 05:01 AM
I tried to run Return to Castle Wolfenstein under win2k server, the game says it can run under win2k but i get the following console output: (What can i do to make it work?)

Wolf 1.0.0 win-x86 Nov 13 2001
----- FS_Startup -----
Current search path:
D:\RTCW\main\sp_pak2.pk3 (232 files)
D:\RTCW\main\sp_pak1.pk3 (1342 files)
D:\RTCW\main\pak0.pk3 (4775 files)
D:\RTCW/main

----------------------
6349 files in pk3 files
execing default.cfg
couldn't exec language.cfg
couldn't exec wolfconfig.cfg
execing autoexec.cfg
Hunk_Clear: reset the hunk ok
...detecting CPU, found Intel Pentium III
Bypassing CD checks
----- Client Initialization -----
Cmd_AddCommand: map_restart already defined
----- Initializing Renderer ----
-------------------------------
----- Client Initialization Complete -----
----- R_Init -----
Initializing OpenGL subsystem
...initializing QGL
...calling LoadLibrary( 'C:\WINNT\System32\opengl32.dll' ): succeeded
...setting mode 3: 640 480 FS
...using desktop display depth of 24
...calling CDS: ok
...registered window class
...created window@0,0 (640x480)
Initializing OpenGL driver
...getting DC: succeeded
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 24, 24, 8 )
...35 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 24, 24, 0 )
...35 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
...restoring display settings
...WARNING: could not set the given mode (3)
...setting mode 3: 640 480 FS
...using colorsbits of 16
...calling CDS: ok
...created window@0,0 (640x480)
Initializing OpenGL driver
...getting DC: succeeded
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 16, 16, 0 )
...35 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 16, 16, 0 )
...35 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
...restoring display settings
...WARNING: could not set the given mode (3)
...shutting down QGL
...unloading OpenGL DLL
...assuming '3dfxvgl' is a standalone driver
...initializing QGL
...WARNING: missing Glide installation, assuming no 3Dfx available
...shutting down QGL
----- CL_Shutdown -----
RE_Shutdown( 1 )
-----------------------
GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem

jpkramer
06-30-2002, 01:46 PM
I can't help you, but your not alone. When I close my eyes all I can see is
GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem

GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem

GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem

06-30-2002, 02:27 PM
Friends... It's my same problem!!! I have windows xp with a radeon ve BUT I HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM!!! I'm very sad!

07-01-2002, 01:58 PM
Yeah... I have the exact same problem...
XP + Radeon 32Mb DDR + Return to castle wolfenstein = "could not load opengl subsystem"!!!
Whats worse, the new drivers I downloaded from ATI's website refuse to recognize my card (and yes, I got the *right* driver for the *right* card for the *right* os).
The feedback I got from Microsoft's XP/gaming newsgroups indicate that the driver isn't up to date (i saw plenty of posts even there for this very problem).
And I can't get in touch with ATI's tech support... :-(

Please post back here if anyone resolves the issue.

Thx

vbsucks
07-01-2002, 07:28 PM
Have the exact same problem as Artmaker above ... Win XP with a Radeon 64 MB DDR card and get the exact same error message ... downloaded the right driver from ATI and it refuses to recognise the card .... if anyone knows how to fix it PLEASE let us know....