PDA

View Full Version : Knights of the Old republic



11-21-2003, 12:29 AM
After installing the game I ran the config system check and it told me I did not have Opengl installed to run the game. I have a AIW Radeon 9800 and other games run fine. The system info said it's reading my secondary driver of my radeon but it's not reading my primary driver, is there anyway I can program it so it does? I know the primary driver has opengl affliated to it but my secondary driver does not seem to have opengl attached to it. I can't even run the game wihtout getting a spinning CD icon of death and then a window pop up that terminates the game loading. Tried different configs and reinstalling everything.. Nothing works, how can I find my opengl and get it to focus on my primary Radeon 9800 AIW driver please??? thank you...
(ME, p4 1.6, AIW Radeon 9800 cat 3.9)

Petu
11-21-2003, 05:16 AM
I have the same problem, but none of my games runs with opengl. Every game crashes before main menu. DirectX works just fine. My computer: Asus A7N8X-X with newest nforce drivers, GF 4 TI 4200 with 44.03 detonators, Barton 2500+, integrated sound card, win 2k pro. And this problem first occured with nvidia's new forceware driver's. I uninstalled those and installed 44.03 deto's, but it fixed nothing.

Petu
11-21-2003, 12:24 PM
Found the solution to my problem. I uninstalled matlab and it did the trick.

11-21-2003, 02:54 PM
i also have a problem with the game, have intel 82845G graphics controller, which supports openGL 1.3 (i have the latest driver) but i cant seem to get an update to the openGL 1.4 which it says i need. does anyone know whether intel does or will have a 1.4 driver?

11-27-2003, 07:12 AM
What matlab ?!?
yeah i have the same problem with all opengl games.

12-09-2003, 10:53 AM
I also have an Intel 82845G and need the OpenGL 1.4 drivers. The lates drivers from the Intel website are only 1.3. Does anyone know when Intel will be supporting 1.4 or is there a fix for this problem?

12-24-2003, 11:32 PM
I just installed KOTOR and I have a Radeon IGP 345m video card. KOTOR says that I need an openGL 1.4 compatible card. Are there any drivers I can download to make it work?

DADSTER
12-26-2003, 12:45 AM
I have nvidia gforce 2 graphics card, and OPENGL 1.2. I too have installed KOTOR, and received "amber" on the system check for my graphics card, and "red" for my OPENGL. The game, however, is running (according to my 10 year old trainee jedi) OK so far. I too would like to upgrade to OPENGL 1.4 or 1.5 but have had no luck finding it on the nvida web pages. Any ideas? Would a better graphics card be worth the investment, or would I still have to find the elusive upgarde of OPENGL?

12-27-2003, 11:55 AM
I had precisely the same problem mentioned by Dadster. Just like Petu said, KOTOR ran fine after I uninstalled Matlab. This seems very odd to me since KOTOR says there is a hardware problem, but the fix involved removing a seemingly unrelated piece of software. Any thoughts?

01-08-2004, 07:00 AM
I have an Intel 82855, when a take the lifter to subterranean city it crashes. I have opengl 1.3 and need 1.4 this is a dog ****.

01-09-2004, 09:34 AM
can someone tell me how to uninstall 'matlab'??

Josuhah
01-09-2004, 04:09 PM
Try ATI's Catalyst 3.10 on their website. I have not determined whether this has anything to do with GL support, but you probably want the latest ati driver for your card whether it helps with KOTOR or not...hopefully it will. I am having a ton of trouble finding the latest GL stuff anywhere on their site. KOTOR crashes constantly...infuriating. I will continue looking. I am e-mailing them right now.
Joshua http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif :confused
Uberjunge@aol.com

01-17-2004, 11:10 AM
I also have the Intel 82845G that supports OpenGL1.3. And it crashes all the time and I can't even get past a point early in the game. Does any one have a solution?

01-17-2004, 11:16 AM
Originally posted by PFG:
I also have the Intel 82845G that supports OpenGL1.3. And it crashes all the time and I can't even get past a point early in the game. Does any one have a solution?

Computer: 100% DirectX 9.0b compatible computer
Operating Systems: Windows 98/98SE/ME/2000/XP
CPU: Intel PIII 1 GHz or AMD Athlon 1 GHz required
Memory: 128 MB RAM required for Windows 98, 256 MB RAM required for Windows ME/2000/XP
Graphics Card: 32 MB OpenGL 1.4 compatible PCI or AGP 3D Hardware Accelerator with Hardware Transform and Lighting (T&L) Capability required
Sound Card: 100% DirectX 9.0b compatible Audio Device required
CD-ROM: Quad Speed CD-ROM drive required
Input Device: Keyboard and mouse required
DirectX: Microsoft DirectX 9.0b is included on this CD. NOTE: DirectX may require the "latest" drivers for your particular hardware.
Installation: 4.0 GB of free hard drive space required
Supported Chipsets at the time of release:


ATI Radeon 8500/9000/9200
ATI Radeon 9500/9600/9700/9800
NVIDIA GeForce 2/3/4 family
NVIDIA GeForceFX family


You folks are reading the System Requirements on the side of the box before buying, aren't you? Or is that not listed on the ISO as you download it?

01-18-2004, 11:05 AM
same problem. but i have geforce 3 ti 200

01-18-2004, 01:01 PM
Originally posted by spyderkiller:
same problem. but i have geforce 3 ti 200

Which problem?

01-23-2004, 09:14 AM
Originally posted by Montresor:
After installing the game I ran the config system check and it told me I did not have Opengl installed to run the game. I have a AIW Radeon 9800 and other games run fine. The system info said it's reading my secondary driver of my radeon but it's not reading my primary driver, is there anyway I can program it so it does? I know the primary driver has opengl affliated to it but my secondary driver does not seem to have opengl attached to it. I can't even run the game wihtout getting a spinning CD icon of death and then a window pop up that terminates the game loading. Tried different configs and reinstalling everything.. Nothing works, how can I find my opengl and get it to focus on my primary Radeon 9800 AIW driver please??? thank you...
(ME, p4 1.6, AIW Radeon 9800 cat 3.9)

01-23-2004, 09:38 PM
Originally posted by PFG:
I also have the Intel 82845G that supports OpenGL1.3. And it crashes all the time and I can't even get past a point early in the game. Does any one have a solution?

Try turning off all the movies in the Configuration. That's what I did.

01-29-2004, 05:33 AM
I wish someone would let out the secret on how to uninstall matlab

EERookie
01-29-2004, 06:56 AM
You would have had to install Matlab to need to uninstall it. If you have installed it, go to the add/remove programs in the control panel.


I can't find any info on the ATI site referencing opengl. The Catalyst drivers say they have opengl but do not list a version. I have the latest Catalyst drivers installed, but KOTOR still says I am using the Microsoft opengl 1.1.0. Any suggestions?

marcioalb
01-29-2004, 09:46 AM
You dont actually have to unnistall MatLab (that is, if you have the program), all you have to do is to go to the task manager and stop 2 aplications (matlab.exe and matlabserver). This will do the trick. However, you will have to do this everytime you turn your computer on. Otherwise just remove the whole program.
For those who dont have MatLab, but older opengl versions, try upgrading the drivers.
The latest nvidia drivers (53.03) has opengl 1.4. To do that just go to nvidia.com, then drivers, or to the other video card producers pages.

EERookie
01-29-2004, 10:55 AM
Does anyone have any advice for those with the latest vendor provided drivers who are not running Matlab but are still experiencing OpenGL version issues. (see posts above)

02-03-2004, 07:15 PM
I have a geforce 4, 440 go card in my laptop, and it says it supports the card, and i have the newest driver from nvidia (53.03) but im still failing the openGL test. Im not running matlab. Anyone have any ideas?

02-03-2004, 07:18 PM
I have a geforce 4, 440 go card in my laptop, and it says it supports the card, and i have the newest driver from nvidia (53.03) but im still failing the openGL test. Im not running matlab. Anyone have any ideas?

02-04-2004, 04:28 AM
I also have a gforce4 440 go so would be very grateful in getting this damn game working!!

02-05-2004, 02:56 AM
I have just had a repsonse from lucasarts online assistance who are saying that the nvidia gforce4 440 GO is NOT supported by the game.

02-08-2004, 01:59 PM
I've got GeForce4 460 Go in my laptop and although i get a red in the openGL check and a yellow in the graphic card check, the game runs. Though the graphics are quite slow even on the lowest detail. Where could I get newer version of openGL, please help.

02-09-2004, 07:17 PM
who the **** releases a game in which you need the newest ****ing computer to play it?!??!?! "Sorry sir, that new computer your bought last week is not capable of playing KOTOR", and you go, "WTF!!??! IT HAS NFORCE 99999 and that 0nz j00!!!11!!!1", and he goes, "STFU U MF!!! j00 n33d NFarce 999999999999 which came out ****ing yesterday to play this ****ing game!!!!"

02-10-2004, 04:22 AM
Originally posted by this_is_me_ha:
who the **** releases a game in which you need the newest ****ing computer to play it?!??!?! "Sorry sir, that new computer your bought last week is not capable of playing KOTOR", and you go, "WTF!!??! IT HAS NFORCE 99999 and that 0nz j00!!!11!!!1", and he goes, "STFU U MF!!! j00 n33d NFarce 999999999999 which came out ****ing yesterday to play this ****ing game!!!!"


Uh... you don't need the newest... but you need something from the last 3 years or so... unless you bought an ultra cheap piece of crap (like Wal-Mart, Best Buy, etc. seem to sell more and more of).

In which case, you need to invest a few dollars in a decent REAL video card... and then KOTOR will play.

02-10-2004, 04:25 AM
Oh, I almost forgot... laptop users are a special case. Most laptops are NOT designed to play games, especially very demanding games like first person shooters.

Stick with low graphics games and DVDs unless you get something that is ultra high end (and quite expensive).

02-11-2004, 12:05 PM
Originally posted by this_is_me_ha:
who the **** releases a game in which you need the newest ****ing computer to play it?!??!?! "Sorry sir, that new computer your bought last week is not capable of playing KOTOR", and you go, "WTF!!??! IT HAS NFORCE 99999 and that 0nz j00!!!11!!!1", and he goes, "STFU U MF!!! j00 n33d NFarce 999999999999 which came out ****ing yesterday to play this ****ing game!!!!"

That is why you will find the required minimun system requirements on every box if you fail to read them its your fault.
Game makers needs to use newer features 3d cards have to offer, if COD would just look like MOHAA where would be the point of making it in the forst place?

Your are not only offending, you are plain stupid and unreasonable.

Do us all a favour and get yourself a console.

02-11-2004, 12:07 PM
Dont mind the spelling... *lol*

02-19-2004, 01:13 PM
i have an up to date comp, cpu, and videocard... but KOTOR still crashes on me, it used to crash when i got off of the first republic ship, but the update fixed that, now it crashes when i first get to dantooine. it wont run no matter what i do. i tried updating again, but it tells me im up to date. my video card is geforce 2 with all the latest updates, and still the darn game crashes... personally, i think Lucas is getting sloppy when it comes to his merchandise... the movies, the games, even the toys are getting poorer and poorer... someone needs to send the better business buerou after him and tell him to smarten up... anyways, sorry for the rant, but im just frustrated at this... it's a great game, but all the crashing is making it lose major points in my book

02-20-2004, 03:50 AM
i have gone to nvidia for the newest opengl 1.4-1.5 compatible driver and its not and i cant seem to find them http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/confused.gif i dont pretend to be a computer geek so help would be appreciated

02-20-2004, 04:07 AM
Originally posted by hiccup:
i have gone to nvidia for the newest opengl 1.4-1.5 compatible driver and its not and i cant seem to find them http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/confused.gif i dont pretend to be a computer geek so help would be appreciated

Just download the drivers for your video card. If your video card supports v1.4, then it will be using it.

02-20-2004, 04:10 AM
Originally posted by fishman5440:
i have an up to date comp, cpu, and videocard... but KOTOR still crashes on me, it used to crash when i got off of the first republic ship, but the update fixed that, now it crashes when i first get to dantooine. it wont run no matter what i do. i tried updating again, but it tells me im up to date. my video card is geforce 2 with all the latest updates, and still the darn game crashes... personally, i think Lucas is getting sloppy when it comes to his merchandise... the movies, the games, even the toys are getting poorer and poorer... someone needs to send the better business buerou after him and tell him to smarten up... anyways, sorry for the rant, but im just frustrated at this... it's a great game, but all the crashing is making it lose major points in my book

Are you using version 1.2 of the game?
http://support.lucasarts.com/patches/KotOR.htm

Shin-Trance
03-02-2004, 06:24 PM
I have the newest forceware installed but still the diagnosis show my computer only have openGL 1.3.1 , installed , but it require 1.4.0, what can i do for this ?

03-06-2004, 06:39 AM
Well we all seem to have the same problem me with a Radeon 7200 and still do not know where to look to find a solytion

03-06-2004, 07:45 AM
Originally posted by Cobalt:
Well we all seem to have the same problem me with a Radeon 7200 and still do not know where to look to find a solytion

No, your problem is that your video card does not meet the minimum requirements to play.


Originally posted by Uh:
Computer: 100% DirectX 9.0b compatible computer
Operating Systems: Windows 98/98SE/ME/2000/XP
CPU: Intel PIII 1 GHz or AMD Athlon 1 GHz required
Memory: 128 MB RAM required for Windows 98, 256 MB RAM required for Windows ME/2000/XP
Graphics Card: 32 MB OpenGL 1.4 compatible PCI or AGP 3D Hardware Accelerator with Hardware Transform and Lighting (T&L) Capability required
Sound Card: 100% DirectX 9.0b compatible Audio Device required
CD-ROM: Quad Speed CD-ROM drive required
Input Device: Keyboard and mouse required
DirectX: Microsoft DirectX 9.0b is included on this CD. NOTE: DirectX may require the "latest" drivers for your particular hardware.
Installation: 4.0 GB of free hard drive space required

Supported Chipsets at the time of release:

ATI Radeon 8500/9000/9200
ATI Radeon 9500/9600/9700/9800
NVIDIA GeForce 2/3/4 family
NVIDIA GeForceFX family

03-12-2004, 01:57 PM
lil help,
I try to load a saved game and i get an error stating that my PC can't find the .exe file. Works just fine if i start a new game, but not when i load. i read somewhere to download the newest Forceware drivers, but i don't have an Nforce motherboard. ????

03-12-2004, 10:53 PM
Little question.
I'm from Russia - bears, snow - you know. I need just a short piece of advice - where to find non-windows generic openGL 1.4.0 drivers?

03-13-2004, 01:03 PM
Right, i got KotoR yesterday, and like others, i need OpenGL 1.4. I also have Neverwinter nights, and for that to run i downloaded the 53.03 graphics drivers thing. I'm not great when it comes to comps, but does anyone know where i can download 1.4, as i dont wish to spend over£50 getting a new graphics card for a computer i only have 3 games for.. (i have a GC, but KotoR isnt on it so i bought it for the pc >_< )

huh
03-14-2004, 05:40 AM
so, were can i find openGL software? http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/confused.gif

03-14-2004, 08:50 AM
Originally posted by huh:
so, were can i find openGL software? http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/confused.gif

FROM YOUR VIDEO CARD MANUFACTERER

90% of the time, that is:
www.ati.com (http://www.ati.com)
www.nvidia.com (http://www.nvidia.com)

03-17-2004, 05:25 PM
I have a 7500, which I know technically isn't supported, but it runs fine until it gets to the undercity, then my game goes fubar and it looks like I'm randomly running through a bamboo forest. Up until that point? No problem what so ever...

xtreme
04-09-2004, 09:43 AM
Is firegl the same as opengl?

04-09-2004, 02:55 PM
Originally posted by xtreme:
Is firegl the same as opengl?No

xtreme
04-09-2004, 04:57 PM
so, what is a good, but realatively cheap video card to use for this game then?

04-17-2004, 07:47 PM
Ok, now you people are getting a little confused about the OpenGL drivers. These drivers are included in your gfx card driver downloads. This means when you download a card driver from your manufacturer and install it, the OpenGL drivers are installed TOGETHER with the card's drivers themselves. No, you cannot install OpenGL drivers separately because nobody provides such OpenGL driver without bundling it to the card driver.

(For nVidia GeForce card users using Detonator drivers)
To customize OpenGL settings, open up your Display Properties from Control Panel, and click the "Settings" Tab, make sure that the card whose drivers you wanna check is active (if you had 2 cards installed in your PC) then click "Advanced" button. There you can see your card's details. We're not done here, so you should click on the "nView" tab. Then click on the button below, that says your card name on it. Then click the OpenGL tab. You can see many adjustable settings here. Play around with them, but make sure you know what you're doing. Should anything go wrong, just click the "Restore Defaults" button.

And remember:
You cannot beat me, Revan. Not when I'm on Star Forge.