PDA

View Full Version : could not load OpenGL subsystem



Wim
01-30-2003, 12:42 PM
I got the following message:
--- Common Initialization ---
Medal of Honor Allied Assault 1.00 win-x86 Jan 28 2002
----- FS_Startup -----
Current search path:
C:\Games\medal of honor\main\Pak6Nl.pk3 (475 files)
C:\Games\medal of honor\main\Pak5.pk3 (259 files)
C:\Games\medal of honor\main\Pak4.pk3 (593 files)
C:\Games\medal of honor\main\Pak3.pk3 (669 files)
C:\Games\medal of honor\main\Pak2.pk3 (4722 files)
C:\Games\medal of honor\main\Pak1.pk3 (396 files)
C:\Games\medal of honor\main\Pak0.pk3 (11174 files)
C:\Games\medal of honor/main

----------------------
18288 files in pk3 files
execing default.cfg
execing menu.cfg
execing newconfig.cfg
Config: unnamedsoldier.cfg
couldn't exec configs/unnamedsoldier.cfg
execing safemode.cfg
couldn't exec localized.cfg
execing autoexec.cfg
Unknown command "fov"
couldn't exec custom.cfg
...detecting CPU, found AMD w/ 3DNow!

------- Input Initialization -------
Initializing DirectInput...
Couldn't set DI coop level
Falling back to Win32 mouse support...
------- Input Initialization Complete ------- 12
You are now setup for easy mode.
----- Client Initialization -----
Called FadeSound with: 0.000000
----- Initializing Renderer ----
----- R_Init -----
Initializing OpenGL subsystem
...initializing QGL
...calling LoadLibrary( 'C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\opengl32.dll' ): succeeded
...setting mode 3: 640 480 FS
...using colorsbits of 16
...calling CDS: ok
...registered window class
...created window@0,0 (640x480)
Initializing OpenGL driver
...getting DC: succeeded
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 16, 16, 0 )
...23 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
...restoring display settings
...WARNING: could not set the given mode (3)
...shutting down QGL
...unloading OpenGL DLL
...assuming '3dfxvgl' is a standalone driver
...initializing QGL
...WARNING: missing Glide installation, assuming no 3Dfx available
...shutting down QGL
GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem

What is going wrong? Please help me (and my children) ti fix the gaming conditions!

the_klint
01-31-2003, 01:59 AM
what is your OS ? (wich windows u use ?)
What is u're graphic card ?
Are all of your drivers up to date ? (graphic's card, mother board, windows... and eventualy patchs of the game itself)

if u have a geforce card u might need "NVIDIA'S DETONATOR" (u can find it on the website)

next time u install a game be sure your computer is DEFRAGGED and that Anti-virus/firewalls are shut down and don't hesitate te defrag again after installing a big game...

Wim
02-01-2003, 02:18 AM
Originally posted by the_klint:
what is your OS ? (wich windows u use ?)
What is u're graphic card ?
Are all of your drivers up to date ? (graphic's card, mother board, windows... and eventualy patchs of the game itself)

if u have a geforce card u might need "NVIDIA'S DETONATOR" (u can find it on the website)

next time u install a game be sure your computer is DEFRAGGED and that Anti-virus/firewalls are shut down and don't hesitate te defrag again after installing a big game...

OS: Windows 98 SE
Card: NVIDIA Geforce 2 - MX/MX 400
Authentic AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1500+
RAM: 512 Mb

I have reinstalled MOHAA
Downloaded Detonator 40.72_win9x_WHQL.exe en executed it!

Still the same error is occuring...
Don't know what to do next!

the_klint
02-01-2003, 07:35 AM
try posting your problem on an ather thread...

Cos i see very little people answering pure OPENGL answers here

send your problem to the games tech support also i might help

the_klint
02-01-2003, 08:19 AM
try this it is a list of modification to improve your system for gaming (specialy the Half life motor but that game and Medal Of Honour share the same openg gl problems with Geforces cards) http://forums.dayofdefeatmod.com/forums/...&threadid=27528 (http://forums.dayofdefeatmod.com/forums/showthread.php?s=f671709498538aff840cea8049ffc9bc&threadid=27528)

best of luck i wish i could do more

last resort
send your problem (with all the information about your system you can and the bug text in the first message u left here) to :
- medal of hounour's tech support (at the game's distributor's websits) (i think it is "EA GAMES")
- medal of hounour's fan's website in the forum for technical problems/issues
- windows tech support asking them for advise and a patch of some sort

- ask to be mailed the answers but don't forget to go an check anyway where u have left your requests

i'm out did what i could hope your children will be able to play quick http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/biggrin.gif

02-01-2003, 04:47 PM
i have the same problem, but with Jedi Knight II. I get almost exactly the same error message.

is medal of honor also built on the quake 3 engine? because jedi knight ii is, and that seems to be the problem. i'm running windows xp, and about a month ago, when i had windows me, the game worked on EXACTLY the same hardware.

oh well... too bad, i guess.

02-01-2003, 05:18 PM
hey i just figured it out!... i disabled the monitors!!! (I'm using a laptop)... in "device manager" it lists two monitors: Plug & Play Monitor and Default Monitor. I disabled both of them, but the laptop display still works. weird. But now JK II works!!! Yay...

so if you have a graphics card capable of running multiple monitors, just disable the secondary ones...

good luck

Wim
02-16-2003, 01:29 AM
Thanks for your help!
At last i arrived at the EA Games Support and they gave me the right advice (amongst a list of).
I just did the following to get it all OK:
If you are still receiving this error once both of these things are met
check the following:
Go to Start > Run and in the run box type "win.ini" without the quotes and
click the OK button. The Win.ini window should come to the foreground,
scroll through the list of items until you come to [DrawDib]. Look for a
line under [DrawDib] that says DVA=0 and remove it. Click File, then Save
and close the win.ini file.
Try the game at this point.

If you do not see the DVA=0 line under the [DrawDib] section, then this is
not the cause of your problem. DVA stands for Direct Video Access, and is
commonly set to 0 to fix issues with older games or video problems with old
software. Unfortunately it causes the game to not recognize OpenGL support
on your system as well. The only way to fix this is to remove that line.
This should not affect anything on your system.
...AND IT HELPED!
Happy chidren again....