PDA

View Full Version : Gl not working properly?



Feesh
01-05-2005, 09:13 AM
Hey everyone , im new year but ive been reading a few articles, and recently my gl hasnt been working at all :|. I got into a quake modding phase, and i thought id treat my self to a nice glQuake approach instead of winquake.

But I get an error code like...

---------------------------
GLQuake: GLQUAKE.EXE - Application Error
---------------------------
The exception Privileged instruction.

(0xc0000096) occurred in the application at location 0x00243432.

Click on OK to terminate the program
Click on CANCEL to debug the program
---------------------------
OK Cancel
---------------------------

So just wondering what should i do to fix this, i got new driver updates for my ATI Radeon 8500 but still nothing. Ive been starting/trying to start some GL programming but i get the same error :( so what could be the problem :( ? thanks in advance :D

ZbuffeR
01-05-2005, 02:16 PM
Well, some ideas :
- glQuake is indeed very old. May not work with winXP or whatever.
- you may have a buggy opengl32.dll in the quake folder. You should not.

Try fuhquake, it is a modern enhanced glQuake port :
http://www.fuhquake.net/download.html

About testing if opengl is properly set up on your system, download GLInfo (http://www.delphi3d.net/hardware/index.php) and run it, what it does says about vendor/renderer/Opengl version ? (should be about Ati something, not Microsoft).

Feesh
01-05-2005, 03:59 PM
I just deleted the openGL.dll and that fixed it all :S, i just dont get that, that aint cricket it all, thanks alot Zbuffer owe u big time :D . Hey also, whilst compiling some gl samples i got that error aswell (well 1 gl example, didnt go on to try more [thought my gl was entirely broken]) like same error pointing out an address, ill have a fiddle with it now, but like i said before thanks alot :D

ZbuffeR
01-05-2005, 04:54 PM
To explain better, back in time when glquake was released (1997?) the only efficient affordable 3d card was 3dfx Voodoo 1. A 'miniGl' wrapper was build, basicaly a "3dfx-driver-for-glQuake", and put in the quake as opengl32.dll to override the MS software implementation. Remove it and you get your system-wide GL, nowadays accelerated driver for modern cards.
Maybe your gl example has an incorrect opengl32.dll in its folder too ?
And what says GlInfo (copy it to the same folder as your gl example prog)?